Tax Relief for Taxpayers Affected by Hurricane Matthew

Tax Relief for Taxpayers Affected by Hurricane Matthew

On October 4, 2016, Hurricane Matthew struck the shores of South Carolina. The lives of many individuals and the workflow of many businesses were affected. Consequently, the federal government has declared the low country and portions of the South Carolina midlands as a major disaster area.

If you are a taxpayer described below (taxpayers listed in Treasury Regulation (Reg.) §301.7508A1(d)(1)) and you live or work in a county designated as a federal disaster area in the aftermath of Hurricane Matthew, you may qualify for individual tax relief assistance with the Internal Revenue Service (IRS):

  • An individual taxpayer residing in a designated disaster area;
  • A business entity primarily conducting business in a designated disaster area;
  • A government or non-profit organization relief worker assisting in a designated disaster area;
  • An individual, business entity, or sole proprietorship whose principal residence or place of business is outside of the covered disaster area, but whose records are maintained in a designated disaster area;
  • An estate or trust that maintains necessary records in a designated disaster area;
  • A spouse of an affected taxpayer in regards to a joint return; and
  • An individual taxpayer who visited the designated disaster area and who was killed or injured due to the disaster.

Relief offered by the IRS extends the deadline for filing tax returns, making payments, and performing other time-sensitive acts that have an original or extended due date falling between October 4, 2016 and March 15, 2017. The extended deadline for these actions is now March 15, 2017.

Counties in South Carolina that have been designated as federal disaster areas resulting from Hurricane Matthew include Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Beaufort, Berkeley, Calhoun, Charleston, Chesterfield, Clarendon, Colleton, Darlington, Dillon, Dorchester, Florence, Georgetown, Hampton, Horry, Jasper, Kershaw, Lee, Marion, Marlboro, Orangeburg, Richland, Sumter, and Williamsburg. For more information visit

Categories: General News, Tax, Business Law